My wine list | lapetitenenette

Winemaking exists in South Africa for over 300 years ! It was in 1973 that legislation was implemented to establish geographical boundaries between production areas. There are 5 geographical units: Western Cape, Northern Cape, Eastern Cape, Kwazulu-Natal and Limpopo.

 

6 distinct regions are officially dedicated to wine making : Boberg, Breede River Valley, Cape South Coast, Coastal Region, Klein Karoo and Olifants River.

These regions are also demarcated in 26 districts of which my favorite is the one held by our French ancestors who arrived during the persecution of the Protestants under Louis XIV in 1685: Franschhoek, "the little French corner"!

There are about 80 varieties of grape cultivars in South Africa, of which 3 varietials account for 42.5% of all of them in the country: Chenin Blanc, Colombar and Cabernet Sauvignon.

Here below are the cultivars I recommend you to discover...

  • Sémillon :

 

This grape originated in the region of Bordeaux (French West) is one of the first established in South Africa (since 1822!). Until the nineteenth century, it accounted for 93% of plantings, with a strong presence in the districts of Paarl and Worcester. In the Bordeaux region, it is often blended with Sauvignon Blanc (Graves, Sauternes). The flavors to discover: waxy, pineapple, peach, honey, vanilla, lemon, fig, grass, pepper

If wooded: vanilla, caramel, toasted, buttered

  • Chardonnay :

 

This grape variety, always dry, wooded or not, light or full body, has been present in South Africa since 1970 in most areas with a strong presence in the districts of Robertson and Worcester. Flavors to discover: lemony notes, grapes, apple, melon, sometimes pineapple, peach and chalk. With age: aromas of fig and honey. If it is woody: vanilla and caramel.

  • Chenin Blanc :

 

This is the "star" variety used in all styles of wine (dry, semi-dry, sweet, sparkling, dessert wines ...). These are fragile grapes to handle because of their pyramidal shape. This grape variety widely planted in South Africa is native from the Loire region in France. It has notes of tropical fruits, stewed apples, pineapple, peach, melon, marzipan, guava. With age: honey and almonds. If oaky: vanilla, smoked or toasted!

  • Sauvignon blanc :

 

This is also a widespread variety, especially in the Bay of Plettenberg, close to the Ocean which brings nice acidity to the wine, the favorite for locals to pair with seafood ! This variety shows aromas of fresh grass, green pepper, green asparagus which nice crispiness and acidity...

  • Shiraz

   (known as Syrah in France) :  

 

An amazing varietal to my heart and eyes that offers a nose and a palate quite different on South African lands, because of the hot and dry climate especially. It is a rich, complex and spicy grape variety perfect to pair with meat and sauces! It has a long aftertaste in the palate. I perceive Syrah in France as a more feminine wine with very red fruit nose whereas South African Shiraz appear to be more "masculine" wines to my eyes (or my nose and palate!). They present notes of very dark berries, plums, smoky, leathery along with spices like cloves, cinnamon, black pepper or even eucalyptus!

  •  Pinotage :

 

The "star" red grape in South Africa since it was created in the country itself by Professor Perold at the University of Stellenbosch in 1925. This grape comes from a cross between Pinot Noir and Cinsault (Hermitage). In 1961, he won the championships at the Cape Young Wine Show. The aromas revolve around red fruits, raspberry and strawberry, caramel and a nose of jam with some notes of spices like cinnamon.

  • Cabernet Sauvignon:

 


This is also a very widespread grape and acclaimed by the locals to pair with their meals! Arrived in the country in 1920, this variety resulting from a cross between Cabernet Franc and Sauvignon Blanc is a rather powerful wine and full bodied because it is very often wooded. According to the climatic conditions of the different soils, it can present a great range of aromas and good tannins structure: blackcurrant, blackberry, tobacco, cedar, mint, cigar box, olives, earthy, dark chocolate, eucalyptus or even vanilla!

  • Following an agreement with France, named « Crayfish Agreement », which prohibits the generic use of French names (Méthode Champenoise or Champagne method), South Africans had to rename their sparkling wine fermented a second time in bottles, like in the Champagne region. They finally came up with the naming « Methode Cap Classique » approved and recognized internationally.

  • These sparkling wines are also very nice to discover in the country based on 3 major grapes used mainly for this method : Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier and Chardonnay.

  • Pinot Noir constitutes the basis and brings structure to the wine as well as its deepness. Pinot Meunier brings some richness and fruits. Then, Chardonnay will add some notes of austerity while ensuring a fine maturation with fruit notes and will also preserves the wine elegance.

  • We can retrieve the same range of sparkling wines like in France:

    • Rosé with salmon color (either white + red grapes  blended together, or a red grape macerated a couple of hours with the red skin contact to give the pinkish color)​

    • Blanc de Noir or white from black (based on Pinot Noir juice without skin contact)

    • Blanc de Blanc  or white from white (Chardonnay)

    • Vintage (3 years, several grapes from different vintages)

    • Non Vintage (18 months)

La Petite Nénette

59 163 Condé sur l'Escaut

+33 (0) 6.81.92.01.55

www.lapetitenenette.com 

Facebook: La Petite Nénette

Instagram

SIRET RCS 880 561 840

SARL au capital social de 500 euros 

gérée par Audrey Delbarre

© 2023 par DELBARRE. Créé avec Wix.com

Ma sélection de vins | lapetitenenette

La production de vins existe en Afrique du Sud depuis plus de 300 ans ! C’est en 1973 que la législation a été implémentée pour établir des frontières géographiques entre les zones de production. Il y a ainsi 5 unités géographiques : Cap de l’Ouest (Western Cape), Cap du Nord (Northern Cape), Cap de l’Est (Eastern Cape), Kwazulu-Natal et Limpopo.

 

6 régions distinctes sont officielles pour la production de vin : Boberg, Breede River Valley, Cape South Coast (La Côte du Sud du Cap), Coastal Region (La région côtière), Klein Karoo et Olifants River.

Ces régions sont également démarquées en 26 districts dont mon favori est celui tenu par nos ancêtres français arrivés pendant la persécution des protestants sous Louis XIV en 1685 : Franschhoek, « le petit coin français » !

Il existe environ 80 sortes de cépages en Afrique du Sud dont 3 variétés représentent à elles seules 42,5% de l’ensemble de celles-ci dans le pays : le Chenin Blanc, le Colombar et le Cabernet Sauvignon.

Ci-dessous les cépages que je vous recommande de découvrir...

  • Le Sémillon :

 

Ce cépage originaire de la région de Bordeaux (Ouest Français) est un des premiers implanté en Afrique du Sud (depuis 1822 !). Jusqu’au XIXème siècle, Il représentait 93% des plantations, avec une forte présence dans les districts de Paarl et Worcester. Dans la région de Bordeaux, il est souvent assemblé au Sauvignon Blanc (Graves, Sauternes). Les saveurs à découvrir : cireux, ananas, pêche, miel, vanille, citron, figue, herbe, poivron

Si boisé : vanille, caramel, grillé, beurré

  • Le Chardonnay :

 

Un cépage toujours sec, boisé ou non, de corps léger ou complet, est présent depuis en Afrique du Sud depuis 1970 dans la plupart des régions avec une forte présence dans les districts de Robertson et Worcester. Les saveurs à découvrir : notes citronnées, raisin, pomme, melon, parfois ananas, pêche et craie. Avec de l’âge : des arômes de figue et miel. S’il est boisé : vanille et caramel.

  • Le Chenin Blanc :

 

​Le cépage « star », utilisé dans tous les styles de vin (sec, semi-sec, sucré, pétillant, vins à dessert…). Ce sont des grapes fragiles à manipuler de part leur forme pyramidale. Cépage le plus planté également en Afrique du Sud, originaire de la région de la Loire en France. Il présente des notes de fruits tropicaux, pommes cuites, ananas, pêche, melon, massepain, goyave. Avec l’âge : miel et amandes. Si boisé : vanille, fumé ou toasté !

  • Le Sauvignon blanc :

 

Aussi un cépage très répandu, surtout dans la baie de Plettenberg, accompagné des produits de fruits de l’Océan ! Un cépage aux arômes d’herbe fraîche, de poivron vert, d’asperges bien vertes pour accompagner vos mets marins…

  • Le Shiraz

   (connu sous le nom de Syrah en France) :  

 

Un cépage coup de cœur à mes yeux et qui propose un nez et un palais tout à fait différent sur les terres sud-africaines, du fait du climat chaud et sec surtout. C’est un cépage riche, complexe et épicé parfait pour accompagner des repas de viandes et sauces! Il a une longue tenue en bouche. Je perçois la Syrah en France comme un vin un peu plus féminin au nez de fruits très rouges alors que le Shiraz sud-africain est un vin plus « masculin » à mes yeux (ou mon nez et palais !) avec des notes de fruits très noirs de mûres, prunes, fumé, cuireux et aux épices comme le clou de girofle, la cannelle, poivre noir ou encore eucalyptus !

  •  Le Pinotage :

 

Le cépage rouge « star » en Afrique du Sud puisque c’est une création du pays-même par le Professeur Perold à l’Université de Stellenbosch en 1925. Ce cépage est issu d’un croisement entre le Pinot Noir et le Cinsault (Hermitage). Il a gagné en 1961 les championnats au « Cape Young Wine Show ». Les arômes tournent autour des fruits rouges, de la framboise et de la fraise, du caramel et d’un nez de confiture avec quelques notes d’épices comme la cannelle.

  • Le Cabernet Sauvignon:

 

Aussi un cépage très répandu et plébiscité par les locaux du pays lors de leurs repas ! Arrivée dans le pays en 1920, cette variété issu d’un croisement entre Cabernet Franc et Sauvignon Blanc est un vin assez puissant car très souvent boisé et présentant selon les conditions climatiques des différents terroirs une grande variété d’arômes et de bons tannins : cassis, mûres, tabac, cèdre, menthe, boîte à cigares, olives, terreux, chocolat noir, eucalyptus ou encore vanille !

  • Suite à un accord avec la France, appelé « Crayfish Agreement », qui interdit l’utilisation de noms génériques français (Méthode Champenoise), les Sud-Africains ont ainsi cherché à renommer ce vin pétillant fermenté une seconde fois en bouteille et ont finalement adopté le terme de « Méthode Cap Classique » approuvé à l’international.

  • Ces vins pétillants sont aussi une belle découverte du pays dont la plupart sont basés sur les 3 cépages classiques de cette méthode : le Pinot Noir, le Pinot Meunier et le Chardonnay.

  • Le Pinot Noir donne la base et la structure du vin ainsi que sa profondeur, le Pinot Meunier apporte de la richesse et des fruits. Enfin, le Chardonnay ajoutera une petite touche d’austérité tout en assurant une maturation fine des notes fruitées et en préservant l’élégance de ce vin.

  • On retrouve une gamme similaire que celle en France:

    • Vin Rosé (soit du blanc + rouge, soit un raisin rouge laissé en contact avec la peau quelques heures pendant la fabrication pour lui donner sa teinte rosée)​

    • Blanc de Noir (base de Pinot Noir sans aucun contact avec la peau du raisin)

    • Blanc de Blanc (Chardonnay)

    • Vintage (3 ans, différents cépages d'âges différents)

    • Non Vintage (18 mois)

La Petite Nénette

59 163 Condé sur l'Escaut

+33 (0) 6.81.92.01.55

www.lapetitenenette.com 

Facebook: La Petite Nénette

Instagram

SIRET RCS 880 561 840

SARL au capital social de 500 euros 

gérée par Audrey Delbarre

© 2023 par DELBARRE. Créé avec Wix.com